Raw Goodness

My first venture into rawness was Chocolate Covered Katie’s Fudge Babies which you can read about here.  They were so yummy I decided to try something else in the Raw World – enter Averie of Love Veggies and Yoga – and her Thai Peanut Zucchini Noodles!  It was destiny because she and I have the same spiralizer… oh, I do so love gadgets…. uhhhhh and food.. I do love food.

Cukes, Orange and Yellow Bells

I followed her recipe almost exactly…

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 red bell pepper (I used a mini size)
  • 1 yellow bell pepper (I used a mini size)
  • 1/2 cuke (again, I used a mini)

The spiralizer made quick work of turning the zucchini into noodles.

The Dressing was what drew me to this:

Zucchini Noodles

  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp agave syrup
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (only had sugar free)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (didn’t have any, darn it!)
  • 1-2 tbsp raw apple cider vinegar (I used 1 tbsp of uhmm regular apple cider vinegar)

Peanut Sauce

I blended using my submersion blender – there just wasn’t enough there for my vita mix to handle (gots to get me a smaller wet container … maybe Christmas??)

Combined all this loveliness and it looked scrumptious!

Thai Peanut Zucchini Noodles

Averie mentioned she didn’t like onions and garlic.  Me?  I love me.. the more the merrier.  This was really good as is but next time I make it (and there will be a next time) I’ll add some chopped onion or maybe a chopped shallot instead.

I was curious about the nutrition of this little dandy… The serving size is HUGE and if you eat the entire thing it’s a bit more than 400 calories, 21.5 grams fat, 52.5 carbs, 9.2 fiber and 13.2 protein.  Not bad? It gets better… it’s got 1600mg of Potassium.. that is 2/3 of what you need for the day.. and wait for it.. waaaait for it… 1100mg of Vitamin C!!  Wow.  (Estimates courtesy of Sparkpeople.com)

Check out Averie’s site – She’s got a giveaway going on for The Amazing Grass Chocolate Green Superfood Combo.  I’ve never tried it but am entering and if I win.. I promise to report back!

Merry Christmas!

Annie

2 Comments

Filed under raw, Recipe

2 responses to “Raw Goodness

  1. Wow thanks for the great linkage on the recipes and contests but I am suuuuuper pleased that I have helped you venture into your 2nd only raw recipe. Girl…it’s sooo easy, isn’t it! I love the submersion blender idea. I make a double batch of peanut sauce when I do it, plus I also have the smaller canister too so that helps, but that’s a good idea. And for those that aren’t Vita owners, too!

    anyway, I have a great recipe I am posting in about an hour or two…maybe it’ll get you in the holiday mood :)

    thx for your support!
    xoxo

  2. Merry Christmas to you, too, Annie!!

Leave a Reply

