Chocolate for a Cause…

I’m a regular HEAB reader… and she lead me to Katie… Katie is doing what one person can to raise money for her favorite charities The Enough Project - she’s having a Page View Charity Drive!!  Brilliant idea.. simply brilliant.  This week HEAB is having a contest called POM Covered Kindness in support of Katie.  The challenge was to incorporate pomegranate into one of Katie’s most delicious recipes.  Katie has been positively raving about these Fudge Babies so I decided to enter with that recipe.

I followed Katie’s recipe fairly close.. I used:

130 grams walnuts, only 130 grams of pitless dates (Katie suggest 230g) , 4 tbsp organic Cocoa powder, 1 tsp vanilla – I added the arils from one pomegranate and 2 tbsp of organic unsweetened coconut… YUMMO

I have never had pomegranate juice or arils… and had to google how to get the little bursts of goodness out of their shell.  It wasn’t hard though.  I do like the taste although some of the Arils have a hard “seedlike” thingee in them that a big weird… not all of them, just a few.

And here (drum roll) is my first “raw” food.. the scrumptious.. Chocolate Covered Katie Fudge Babies ala Coconut and Pomegranate Arils!

Ta ta.  I’m heading back for seconds…

Annie

3 Comments

Filed under raw, Recipe

3 responses to “Chocolate for a Cause…

  1. Annie,
    Your coconut and pomegranate fudge babies look amazing. Thanks so much for entering the contest!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend…If you need anyone to come over and baby-sit the rest of the babies, please email me. :)

  2. Oooh look at those! Can I have one?

  3. Pingback: Raw Goodness « Hot Flash Bang!

Leave a Reply

