Random thoughts about food

Random, flight of idea kind of thoughts about me and food:

  • I love a good carb binge but not the massive hangover afterwards
  • I sleep better when I eat whole foods and avoid processed food (nighty night)
  • I have fewer mood swings and am in a better frame of mind when I eat whole foods
  • I have zero bouts with hypoglycemia when eliminating processed foods – zip, zero, nada
  • I get sick of the same old thing day after day (unless it’s processed carby food – now why can I eat cheetos from now until eternity?)
  • I love really tasty food but rarely overeat really tasty fCake balls... sighood if it’s not in the form of sugar (read “cake balls are bad”) or processed (read cheetos)
  • I crave meat.  I mean I will wake up in the middle of the night craving a chicken breast!! Who does that???  But I don’t overeat on meat…
  • I crave bread, potatoes, bread, pasta, bread errrrr did I mention bread? – especially when I’m eating them… okay that makes no sense but *I* know what I mean. (The more I eat it the more I crave it.)  I most definitely overeat on bread, pasta, potatoes….
  • Food tastes better with butter, butter-butter, peanut butter, almond butter….. B-U-T-T-E-R (speaking of which is a tablespoon of almond butter a leveled off tablespoon or a rounded tablespoon???mmmm???)
  • I think Splenda “counts” as sugar.  I think Splenda “counts” as processed.  I think I am addicted to Splenda.
  • I crave fat -did you read where the Texas State fair is having FRIED BUTTER?
  • I do not crave fruit unless I can’t have any (like the Atkins diet) and am always surprised when I add fruit to a dish and it spikes up the yummieness (like grapes in chicken salad or pears and pork chops)
  • I crave cold foods sometimes (like when I’m doing Atkins and everything I ate was alway hot)
  • I am one of the few people I know who will turn down ice cream in favor of bread, pasta or potatoes!
  • Foods labeled “fat free” annoy me
  • My favorite combination of flavors is salty and sweet
  • I love hot, spicy foods too
  • I love foods that are crunchy (back to cheetos again)

If you can’t tell already – I do looooooove a list!

Here’s the plan for the week:

  1. No Splenda.  Zip.  Zero.  Nada.  Just one week. And let’s see….
  2. Try all my health food buys this week:  Stevia, Chia seeds, grass fed beef and greek yogurt
  3. Try Heather’s ABU (need to buy Almond milk)
  4. Try the new Jay Robb’s protein stuff I got (thanks HEAB)
  5. Log my food everyday and be specific about cravings and time of day
  6. Move, move, move

All this and report back next week.

 

    2 Comments

    Filed under Weekly Summary

    2 responses to “Random thoughts about food

    1. I love a good list too, and don’t even get me started on crunchy Tortilla chips. They are my “Cheetos” for sure. Trust me, you are not alone.

      Never craved a chicken breast in the middle of the night, but I have to say I totally agree with ya on the butter thing. Even just a tiny pat pat of butter makes a huge difference on a piece of warm bread. And, in regards to your question, I think the almond butter people mean a leveled off TBSP…that’s why I never measure. I’d feel to guilty because I know mine are not even close to 1 level TBSP. More of a heaping girl myself. :)

      Best of luck with your plan for this week. I think it sounds perfect, and I know you can break the Splenda habit. It’s not easy, but it’s totally possible.

      Enjoy your Jay and ABU – 2 of my favorites.

    2. Okay, it’s official. We must be related. My favorite combo is salty/sweet and must continually remind myself about the “butter” part of almond butter. (they probably don’t call it that because of the texture, but because of the calorie count!)

    Leave a Reply

    